Domain Registration Scam |

Last Updated on

Today I received an email (see screenshot below) advising me that registration for one of my domains would shortly expire and offering me the possibility of making a payment through a link supplied in the email.

Domain registration scam email

Nothing unusual it would seem, except for a few items:

  1. The Registration(as per this email) expires on 12th February and the new registration was from 28th January – effectively shaving two whole weeks from the offered 1 year registration.
  2. Actually this Domain registration really expires Mon. 07/18/2011 a full 5 months later!!!!!!!!!!
  3. This email was not sent by the current registrar for this domain, but rather from a totally unknown (to me) person, with no authority or trust in my book.
  4. Possibly the BIGGEST PROBLEM especially for the unwary was the price – Shown in the email as $75.00 – My registrar charges $10.15 for 1 year renewals.
  5. When going to the linked “Secure Online Payment” page I noticed that this was not the site the email had been sent from and was amused to see that there were even more expensive renewal options available that had the word “Savings” in red next to them (see screenshot below)

Domain registration scam

Now there is nothing illegal in sending an email with the exception of spam (which this certainly was). Also there is nothing illegal in asking you to pay 7 times more for a service than normal.

So the only advice I can give is that you only use your own domain registrar of record to renew a domain registration.

As the saying goes BUYER BEWARE and so just so that you may be aware of this company their name (url for their site) is: – However this is not the first such email I have been sent, so my advice on seeing a similar email in your inbox is to file it in the Trash folder.


About dealman1


  • Tal

    you’ve missed a big thing !! they didnt say renew or register the domain !

    they said “renew your search engine registration” !!

    they offered you to sign up for their search engine service , and used a letter that if you dont read too careful you just think they said renew your domian reg!

    i got this as well.

    see :

    This letter is to inform you that it’s time to send in your search engine registration
    for TELROX.COM.
    Failure to complete your search engine registration by Feb 19, 2011 may result in the cancellation of this offer (making it difficult for your customers to locate you using search engines on the web).
    Your registration includes search engine submission for TELROX.COM for 1 year. You are under no obligation to pay the amount stated above unless you accept this offer by Feb 19, 2011. This notice is not an invoice. It is a courtesy reminder to register TELROX.COM for search engine listing so that your customers can locate you on the web.

  • John MacDonald
    John MacDonald

    Hi Tal, Thanks for pointing that out, you are correct I totally missed that as I have always called this Search Engine Submission. My mistake. However even so I still think this is way over priced for submitting a site to the search engines (unless that includes the $299 fee to Yahoo as well).
    Maybe I should have ended my post with “Buyer read the email carefully” rather than Buyer beware 🙂

  • Seo

    these guys are not using secure payment.. When I got email from I got doubt, they are taking details from service and sending emails. cheating 100%

  • Yahoot

    I’ve had the same email. How can they register my domain if it’s already with my registrar of choice unless I transfer it and provide the domain key? I suspect that this site is used purely to collect your credit card data and sell it on.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

We are using cookies on our website

Please confirm, if you accept our tracking cookies. You can also decline the tracking, so you can continue to visit our website without any data sent to third party services.